Quotes from other Anne Rice’s Books

blue fairy

“I don’t like myself you know. I love myself. I’m devoted to myself till my dying day. But I don’t like myself.” – Lestat in Memnoch the Devil

From the Book The Vampire Armand

“Because I show you my pain, I do not of necessity love you.” – Armand

“If I’m an angel paint me with black wings.” – Armand

“I fear him. I don’t know why. Perhaps I fear him because I could love him again, and loving him, I would come to need him, and need­ing him, I would come to learn from him, and learning from him, I would be again his faithful pupil in all things, only to discover that his patience for me is no substitute for the passion which long ago blazed in his eyes.” – Armand

“I’m trimmed in memories as if in old furs. I lift my arm and the sleeve of memory covers it. I look around and see other times. But you know what frightens me the most — it is that this state, like so many others with me, will prove the verge of nothing but extend itself over centuries.” – Armand

“Sweet to think on it, that when we are last weary of all this world there is the rising sun.” – Armand

“In the very depths of Hell, do not demons love one another?” – Alessandra

“Cathedrals rise from dust, to show man wonder. And in the stones men carve the Danse Macabre to show that life is brief. We carry scythes in the army of the robed skeleton who is carved on a thousand doorways, a thousand walls. We are the followers of Death, whose cruel visage is drawn in a million tiny prayer books which the rich and poor alike hold in their hands.” – Santino

“I know nothing, because I know too much, and understand not nearly enough.” – Marius

“Pretend, and grow strong with each pretense. Rather, draw close and be loving and love, without the luxury of complete honesty. For love can bridge all.” – Marius

“The guardians of the dead are powerfully indifferent. They speak of love, but not of centuries of blundering ignorance. What stars are these that sing so beautifully when all the world is languishing in dissonance?” – Marius

From the book Blood and Gold

“Do not make a religion of reason and logic. Because in the passage of time your mind may fail you, and when it does, you may find yourself taking refuge in madness.” – Pandora

“I live lies because I cannot endure the weakness of anger, and I cannot admit the irrationality of love.”  – Marius

“Let the truth be damned.” – Marius

From the book Blood Canticle

“I want to be a saint. I want to save souls by the millions. I want to do good far and wide. I want to fight evil. I want my life sized statue in every church. I’m talking six feet tall, blonde hair, blue eyes. Wait a second. Do you know who I am?…. I’m the vampire Lestat.”

“Innocence is not our stock-in-trade, my friend. We don’t cultivate it in one another. Honor, I think we can have, more than you may know, and principles, yes, and virtues as well. I’ve taught her that, and every now and then we can behave magnificantly. Even heroically. But innocence? It’s not to our advantage.” – Lestat

From the book The Tale of the Body Thief

“Ah, come now. I look like an angel, but I’m not. The old rules of nature encompass many creatures like me. We’re beautiful like the diamond-backed snake, or the striped tiger, yet we’re merciless killers.” – Lestat

“The meaning of chastity is not to fall in love.” – Gretchen

“But then he is so good at grieving! He wears woe as others wear velvet; sorrow flatters him like light of candles; tears become him like jewels. Well, none of that works for me.” – Lestat

From the book Pandora

“We are thrown back on our words like mortals, only our senses are infinitely keener, and the detachment we know at some times will enflame us, carry us on waves of burning sea.” – Pandora

“I want the world to be better. Better for men and women. Better. Only one thing is clear: the old blood drinkers have by now died out, and there is nothing you or I, or the Queen and the King can do to interfere in the flow of human events. I believe men and women must try harder. I try to understand evil ever more deeply with any victim I take. Any religion that makes fanatical claims and demands on the basis of a god’s will frightens me.” – Marius

“There is but one potion for us and it is blood.” – Pandora

“Grief is absolutely the easiest and safest of bonds.” – Pandora

“I adore you, but you cannot rule over me.” – Pandora

“The finest thing under the sun and the moon is the human soul.” – Pandora

From the book Vittorio, the Vampire

“But I think we all – human, vampire, all of us who are sentient and can weep – we all suffer under a curse, the curse that we know more than we can endure, and there is nothing, absolutely nothing, we can do about the force and the lure of this knowledge.” – Vittorio

“Revenge takes one’s mind from the pain. Revenge is a lure, a mighty molten lure, even if it is hopeless.” – Vittorio

“A spark of the power that made all of us is within each of them, a spark of the invisible, of the subtle, of the sacred, of the mystery – a spark of that which created all things – a human soul.” – Angel Mastema

“Forever, and every time you feed, every time you raise one of their tender throats to your cursed fangs, every time you drink from them the lurid blood you would have, like the worst of God’s beast, you will see that light flicker and struggle, and when the heart stops at the will of your hunger, you will see that light go out.” – Angel Mastema

goth_Fairy_animated

Leave a Reply

